Review: The Light Brigade


The Light Brigade is set in a future where corporate giants rule a broken down society that stretches the solar system. War has broken out between Earth and the independent settlement of Mars, as a result of a Martian attack on Sao Paolo, ‘blinking’ the city’s two million citizens out of existence, including the death of Dietz’s (protagonist) family.


Advanced technological and virus warfare are commonplace, leading to the development of soldiers with light speed travel capability. The opening chapters takes the reader on Dietz’s personal journey through a future day boot camp. Training is a high risk venture, not for the squeamish as they prepare for War on Mars.


In the vein of Starship Troopers and Edge of Tomorrow, this story promises a wild ride into future warfare. I look forward to returning to Kameron Hurley’s Hugo nominated novel.

MICHAEL LEON

Science Fiction & Fantasy Writer

Michael Leon is an explorer, writer and author of the new novel, Sentient.Professionally trained in international trade, Michael has  spent the last decade reading and writing SFF novels about new and future worlds to be explored. His latest work, Sentient, imagines Earth in the year 2120. Michael has traveled extensively around Europe, walking the paths of his characters, from the famous European opera houses in Phantoms, to the mountain tops of Switzerland in Emissary

  • Twitter
  • Grey Amazon Icon
  • Goodreads
  • Blog
Next Release

Sentient is the story about Dane, who is returning to Mars, the home of his youth, where his pioneering parents perished while developing a rare natural resource, Elithium, the only known major deposit in the solar system.

Get notified on release

Copyright © Michael Leon. All rights reserved.