Review: The Light Brigade


The Light Brigade is set in a future where corporate giants rule a broken down society that stretches the solar system. War has broken out between Earth and the independent settlement of Mars, as a result of a Martian attack on Sao Paolo, ‘blinking’ the city’s two million citizens out of existence, including the death of Dietz’s (protagonist) family.


Advanced technological and virus warfare are commonplace, leading to the development of soldiers with light speed travel capability. The opening chapters takes the reader on Dietz’s personal journey through a future day boot camp. Training is a high risk venture, not for the squeamish as they prepare for War on Mars.


In the vein of Starship Troopers and Edge of Tomorrow, this story promises a wild ride into future warfare. I look forward to returning to Kameron Hurley’s Hugo nominated novel.